Reviewing Shamcey’s semantics.

When Miss Universe 2011 3rd runner-up Shamcey Supsup was asked by American actress Vivica Fox if she would change her religious beliefs for the one she loved, she answered this:

If I would have to change my religious beliefs, I would not marry the person that I love. Because the first person that I love is God, who created me. I have my faith and my principles, and this is what makes me who I am. If the person loves me, he’ll love my God, too.

Filipinos and even people of other nationalities admired her spontaneity and wit in answering the said question.

Let us try to see whether Shamcey said it right. Semantically.

…the first person that I love is God…” – Did God become a person at all? We all know and believe he is a heavenly being. Even if she pertained to Jesus, he still possesses a godly state that is more regarded. So, God is not a person at all. She should have addressed God in bulls-eye.

…I have my faith and my principles, and this is what makes me who I am…” – So what? She was not able to justify this statement. I think this is just palabok.

…If the person loves me, he’ll love my God, too.” – YOUR God? She might have not known whoever she loves also knows and believes in God, whatever religion he belongs to. Fine, sa iyo na si God.

I would love to share my response to this question, but I would rather just keep it myself.

:)

2 thoughts on “Reviewing Shamcey’s semantics.

  1. Glecy says:

    Her third statement shows mere self-centeredness. And a little bit confusing for it is unparalleled to the first two.

    But I like her anyway. :)

  2. ghiothegreat says:

    That wa so right. And it was somewhat not related to the question. But then again, everyone admires her spontaneity, eh? :)

Leave a Reply

